Restaurant Development & Design

March-April 2017

restaurant development + design is a user-driven resource for restaurant professionals charged with building new locations and remodeling existing units.

Issue link: http://rddmag.epubxp.com/i/798720

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 3 of 91

2 • r e s t a u r a n t d e v e l o p m e n t + d e s i g n • M A R C H / A P R I L 2 0 1 7 Departments 10 Buzz Milwaukee's Playful Rooftop Bar, Q&A with Won Fun's Austin Baker, UFood Grill Debuts Facial Recognition Kiosks, Terzo Piano Reopens and more. 18 Trend Restaurants Host Pop-Ups Pop-up restaurants can be test runs, creative exercises, and financially rewarding endeavors. More brick- and-mortar locations are dipping into the trend. Here, we dive into three examples and explore the challenges and rewards operators face along the way. 28 Design Market San Diego 64 Project Profile The Drum Room Set in Morongo Casino, Resort & Spa, The Drum Room oozes glamour and elegance while honoring the spirit of the drums central to the heritage of the Native American tribe on whose 32,000-acre reservation the property sits. 70 Project Profile Tony Roma's This rib pioneer's redesigned flagship in Orlando, Fla., focuses on creating fun experiences. CONTENTS 74 How To Move into Nontraditional Locations Three case studies show how chains moved into nontraditional venues and maintained their brand's appeal despite — or perhaps because of — the site challenges. 77 Reader's Choices Stephen F. Jones, AIA, of SF Jones Architects 78 Form + Function AV Systems Integration Proactive, up-front planning of AV systems is critical for success. 82 Solutions Center 86 Design Specs 87 Ad Index www.rddmag.com VOLUME 5, NO 2 MARCH/APRIL 2017 Maureen Slocum Publisher (630) 715-1553; fax (800) 630-4169; maureen@zoombagroup.com Joseph M. Carbonara Editorial Director (800) 630-4168; joe@zoombagroup.com EDITORIAL Editor in Chief Rebecca Kilbreath (800) 630-4168; rebecca@zoombagroup.com Senior Contributing Editor Dana Tanyeri dana@zoombagroup.com Contributing Editors Amanda Baltazar, Donna Boss, Amelia Levin, Stephanie Aurora Lewis, Renee Pas, Carol Skerritt, Tara VanTimmeren and Toby Weber ART & PRODUCTION Art Director and Production Manager Anne LoCascio (800) 630-4168; anne@zoombagroup.com Art and Production Assistant Eric Uhl (800) 630-4168; eric@zoombagroup.com OPERATIONS Director of Operations Tracy Mugan (800) 630-4168 ; tracy@zoombagroup.com MARKETING Marketing Manager Kevin Poch (224) 558-5926 ; kevin@zoombagroup.com SALES Senior Sales Director Carol McAdam (312) 961-5572; carol@zoombagroup.com East Coast Sales Director BG Burg (312) 282-6952; BG@zoombagroup.com South/West Sales Director Kris Duvall (312) 805-9304; kris@zoombagroup.com Sales Representative Nicholas Slocum (630) 908-9607; nicholas@zoombagroup.com RESEARCH Research Director Terri Solomon (800) 630-4168 ; terri@zoombagroup.com CIRCULATION Audience Development Manager Richard Jarrett (800) 630-4168; rich@zoombagroup.com For subscription inquiries and address changes, please contact: P.O. Box 12469 St Louis, MO 63132-0169 Phone (800)630-4168 Fax (800)630-4169 julie@zoombagroup.com REPRINTS For custom reprints and electronic usage, contact Maureen Slocum at: (800) 630-4168; fax (800) 630-4169; maureen@zoombagroup.com OFFICE 190 N. York Street Elmhurst, IL 60126 Phone (800) 630-4168 fax (800) 630-4169 restaurant development + design (USPS 14780) is published bi-monthly by Zoomba Group. 190 N. York Street, Elmhurst, IL 60126. Periodicals postage paid at Elmhurst, IL and additional mailing offices. POSTMASTER: Please send address changes to restaurant development + design, P.O. Box 156 Elmhurst, IL 60126. Subscriptions are free to qualified professionals within the United States. Non-qualified subscriptions are available at the subscription prices of $90 for a year. All other countries and Canada must be prepaid in U.S. funds with an additional $35. Single copy price is $15. Zoomba Group LLC does not assume and hereby disclaims any liability to any person for any loss or damage caused by errors or omissions in the material contained herein, regardless of whether such errors result from negligence, accident or any other cause whatsoever. 64

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Restaurant Development & Design - March-April 2017