Restaurant Development & Design

September-October 2017

restaurant development + design is a user-driven resource for restaurant professionals charged with building new locations and remodeling existing units.

Issue link: http://rddmag.epubxp.com/i/872102

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 3 of 83

2 • r e s t a u r a n t d e v e l o p m e n t + d e s i g n • S E P T E M B E R / O C T O B E R 2 0 1 7 CONTENTS www.rddmag.com VOLUME 5, NO 5 SEPTEMBER/OCTOBER 2017 Maureen Slocum Publisher (630) 715-1553; fax (800) 630-4169; maureen@zoombagroup.com Joseph M. Carbonara Editorial Director (800) 630-4168; joe@zoombagroup.com EDITORIAL Editor in Chief Rebecca Kilbreath (800) 630-4168; rebecca@zoombagroup.com Senior Contributing Editor Dana Tanyeri dana@zoombagroup.com Contributing Editors Amanda Baltazar, Valerie Killifer, Amelia Levin, Caroline Perkins, Carol Skerritt, Tara VanTimmeren and Toby Weber ART & PRODUCTION Art Director and Production Manager Anne LoCascio (800) 630-4168; anne@zoombagroup.com Art and Production Assistant Eric Uhl (800) 630-4168; eric@zoombagroup.com OPERATIONS Director of Operations Tracy Mugan (800) 630-4168 ; tracy@zoombagroup.com MARKETING Marketing Manager Kevin Poch (224) 558-5926 ; kevin@zoombagroup.com SALES Senior Sales Director Carol McAdam (312) 961-5572; carol@zoombagroup.com East Coast Sales Director BG Burg (312) 282-6952; BG@zoombagroup.com South/West Sales Director Kris Duvall (312) 805-9304; kris@zoombagroup.com Sales Representative Nicholas Slocum (630) 908-9607; nicholas@zoombagroup.com RESEARCH Research Director Terri Solomon (800) 630-4168 ; terri@zoombagroup.com CIRCULATION Audience Development Manager Richard Jarrett (800) 630-4168; rich@zoombagroup.com For subscription inquiries and address changes, please contact: P.O. Box 12469 St Louis, MO 63132-0169 Phone (800)630-4168 Fax (800)630-4169 julie@zoombagroup.com REPRINTS For custom reprints and electronic usage, contact Maureen Slocum at: (800) 630-4168; fax (800) 630-4169; maureen@zoombagroup.com OFFICE 190 N. York Street Elmhurst, IL 60126 Phone (800) 630-4168 fax (800) 630-4169 restaurant development + design (USPS 14780) is published bi-monthly by Zoomba Group. 190 N. York Street, Elmhurst, IL 60126. Periodicals postage paid at Elmhurst, IL and additional mailing offices. POSTMASTER: Please send address changes to restaurant development + design, P.O. Box 156 Elmhurst, IL 60126. Subscriptions are free to qualified professionals within the United States. Non-qualified subscriptions are available at the subscription prices of $90 for a year. All other countries and Canada must be prepaid in U.S. funds with an additional $35. Single copy price is $15. Zoomba Group LLC does not assume and hereby disclaims any liability to any person for any loss or damage caused by errors or omissions in the material contained herein, regardless of whether such errors result from negligence, accident or any other cause whatsoever. 26 Departments 8 Buzz Firehouse Subs opens first airport location, brands debut bright and tech-forward prototypes, new Boston restaurant takes design cues from trains of the past, 'Wichcraft flagship opens in NYC 14 Trend Elevated Airport Fare Modern airports are becoming oases where travelers with time to kill can relax and enjoy all manner of goods and services, from massages and manicures to high-tech workstations, wine bars, specialty coffee shops, play parks, art exhibits — even pet patios. And they can dine. Oh, can they dine. 26 Design Market Miami 54 Project Profile Fazoli's Fazoli's takes the next step toward revival. 58 Project Profile Del Frisco's Double Eagle Dallas Moving a flagship location while introducing a new look poses challenges and risks. 64 How To Design for Scalability The biggest chains can scale from a couple hundred square feet to a few thousand, but how do they do it? 68 Reader's Choices Deborah L. English, IIDA, CCID, founder and president, D L English Design in Pasadena, Calif., shares some of her favorite trends. 70 Form + Function Prepare for Takeout Operators have a host of things to consider when making room for takeout operations. 74 Solutions Center 78 Design Specs 79 Ad Index

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Restaurant Development & Design - September-October 2017